• At a Glance

  • Uche Amaechi
  • Pradeep Aradhya
  • Bonnie Bertolaet
  • Shirby Best
  • Karen Cambray
  • Mary McGowan
  • Beth O’Sullivan
  • Karen Page
  • Natasha Walwyn
  • For current board members
  • Board of Directors

  • Out and about for SCFG: board members representing the organization at public events, April 2016.

    Out and about for SCFG: board members representing the organization at public events, April 2016.

  • Uche Amaechi, Chair of the Board

    Uche Amaechi, MBA and EdD, is the ELT Coordinator at the Fletcher Maynard Academy where he works on school leadership. Uche also works with graduate students studying leadership, organizational behavior, and social entrepreneurship. He specializes in organizational behavior, social entrepreneurship and educational technologies. Uche serves on the board of Farrington Nature Linc. BA Harvard College; MBA University of Phoenix; EdM & EdD Harvard Graduate School of Education.  He joined the board in 2003 and is a resident of Somerville.

  • Pradeep Aradhya, PhD., Development Committee Chair

    Dr. Aradhya is the CEO of Novus Laurus. He holds a Ph.D. in Civil Eng. / Structural Dynamics and a M.Sc in Aerospace Engineering, and was formerly the Vice President of Technology at Digitas. He mentors entrepreneurs for the Merrimack Valley Sandbox. He joined the board in 2013 and is a resident of Winchester.

  • Bonnie Bertolaet

    Bonnie Bertolaet is a biochemist who received her B.A. from Amherst College and her Ph.D. from Harvard University and trained as an NIH post-doctoral fellow at the University of California San Diego and The Scripps Research Institute (La Jolla, CA). During her work in academia and in biotech, her areas of research covered enzymology, yeast genetics, oncology (the cell cycle), and inflammation (signal transduction). For over 14 years, Bonnie has been involved with educational organizations in public and private schools in a variety of roles, including supporting an equity-based educational program focused on raising awareness of physical and intellectual disabilities for children K-6th grade. Bonnie was elected to the Board in 2017 and is a resident of Concord, MA.

  • Shirby Best, Clerk & President Emeritus, Program Committee Chair

    Shirby Best is a social service professional with over 26 years of experience in the field.  She is a prior president of the Cambridge Rindge and Latin School parent-teacher council from 2006-2010. Ms. Best is a founding member of the Board and is a resident of Cambridge, MA.

  • Karen Cambray, Treasurer

    Karen Cambray has more than 20 years of executive finance experience building and scaling early-stage technology companies. She is currently the CFO at Cartera Commerce, a provider of performance advertising solutions where she leads the company’s strategic finance, legal, accounting and administrative functions. In 2014 she was named CFO of the Year (mid-size private company) by the Boston Business Journal. Karen’s experience prior to Cartera includes CFO roles at Zeemote and Groove Mobile, both venture-backed technology companies, and senior financial management positions at Be Free, Inc., ISI Emerging Markets, Millipore Corporation and Arthur Andersen. She holds a Bachelor’s Degree from Merrimack College, and she is currently a member of the Merrimack College Leadership Council. Karen is a resident of Westford, MA.  She joined the board in 2015.

  • Mary McGowan

    Mary McGowan is a co-founder, with Beth O’Sullivan, of Science Club for Girls and has volunteered with the club in various capacities since its inception. A graduate of Boston University with an MS in Film and Simmons College with a MSLS in Library Science, Mary has worked in independent film, television and in libraries, her first love. She lives in Cambridge, Massachusetts with her family. Her daughter was a proud member of Science Club for Girls.  Mary was re-elected to the board in 2015.

  • Beth O’Sullivan, Board Governance Committee Chair

    Beth O’Sullivan is a mathematics educator, founder of The Mathemagics Workshop and, with Mary McGowan, is the co-founder of Science Club for Girls. She studied undergraduate and graduate mathematics at MIT and has published short stories and book reviews. She has three grown daughters, the youngest of which attended Science Club for Girls and founded the Science Club for Girls in Ghana. She lives in Cambridge upstairs from three granddaughters and five chickens.  Read more about Beth and the early days of SCFG.

  • Karen Page, PhD.

    Karen Page is a Clinical Scientist at Pfizer with over 20 years of experience in the pharmaceutical industry. While working as a research associate, she earned her PhD in Pharmacology at Boston University School of Medicine. She specializes in exploratory biomarkers and broad profiling studies that provide translational value to early clinical studies for assets targeting various inflammatory disease indications. She also has over 15 years of experience as a community volunteer and organizational leader. She has been a member of the Junior League of Boston since 2000 and has served in many leadership roles. She is the recipient of the 2005 Active Volunteer Award, the 2006 Outstanding Manager Award and the 2015 Sarah Lawrence Award. Karen is also a Past President of the Massachusetts Chapter of the Association for Women in Science. Karen also leads the Ambassadors group for Science Club for Girls and was elected to the board in 2015. She is a resident of Merrimack, NH.
  • Natasha Walwyn-Robinson

    Natasha Walwyn-Robinson is legal counsel for Progress Software Corporation where she represents the company in commercial disputes, intellectual property portfolio management and general corporate matters. She holds a Bachelor’s degree in Biology from the University of Virginia and Juris Doctorate from Suffolk University Law School. Natasha’s prior leadership includes service as an AmeriCorps Massachusetts Promise Fellow, Commonwealth Legislative Seminar participant, Program Director of UVA’s Madison House Teens GIVE program, Vice President of the Suffolk Black Law Students Association and Admissions Chair for the UVA Alumni Club of Boston. She is a native of Cambridge, Massachusetts, and was elected to the board in 2015.